skip to search skip to navigation skip to main content

STS Excellence & Innovation Awards

The future of transplant medicine is fueled by efforts of outstanding researchers and their teams. Innovative preclinical and clinical research projects will continuously improve our knowledge of transplantation and address emerging challenges.

To advance transplant research in Switzerland, the Swiss Transplantation Society (STS) will confer 2 awards, one STS Excellence Award, endowed with CHF 20’000.- and one STS Innovation Award with CHF 10’000.-. Both awards are financially supported by Astellas Pharma AG and will be distributed at the STS Annual Meeting in Thun, January 23-24, 2020.

An independent jury of experts will elect 2 award winners among eligible candidates who may be surgeons, physicians or other persons active in translational transplantation research as well as clinical practice within Switzerland. The STS Excellence Award shall be conferred to a person in the middle of his/her career, below 55 years of age, whereas the STS Innovation Award shall be conferred to a younger candidate, ≤ 40 years of age, with outstanding future potential. Based on age limits, candidates will automatically qualify for the STS Excellence Award only or for both, the STS Innovation and the STS Excellence Award. The same rules otherwise apply for all candidates (see enclosed rules) except that criteria 10.b), 10.c) and 10.d) of these rules will be double-weighted for the evaluation of the STS Innovation Award. The winners will be awarded as the representatives of a research group or project for outstanding scientific and/or clinical achievements.

Call for Nominations

For further details, please consult the STS webpages for the STS Excellence Award and the STS Innovation Award as well as the award rules published there.

Applications must be sent before September 30, 2019 to the STS Secretariat office:
[email protected] – Mrs Nicole Giacomini – T 021 312 92 62.

Previous Award Winners

We cordially congratulate the winner of the STS Excellence Award 2018 who has been elected by the independent jury: Prof. Stefan Schaub, Universitätsspital Basel (USB). Prof. Schaub is an expert in kidney transplantation and has been awarded mainly based on three recent scientific publications centered on the characterization of diagnostic and prognostic markers to monitor transplant patients and on the dissection of the pathogenic characteristics of anti-HLA antibodies.

The winner, Prof. Schaub, has been officially announced and awarded during the Annual Meeting of the Swiss Transplantation Society in Thun on 25. January 2019.


Prof. Dr. med. Maurice Matter, Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois and STS President (left), Prof. Dr. med. Stefan Schaub with award trophy, University Hospital Basel and award winner (2nd from left), Prof. Dr. med. Jürg Steiger, University Hospital Basel and jury member (2nd from right), Dr. Silvia Gluderer, Astellas (right).

For more information on the previous winners and the award jury, please visit the Swisstransplant Magazine or directly access the articles in German and French by clicking on the weblinks in the table below.

Hall of Fame:

Year Winner Link to Article in Swisstransplant Magazine
2018 Prof. Dr. med. Stefan Schaub, USB n/a
2017 Prof. MD PhD Christian Toso, HUG German, French
2016 PD Dr. Oriol Manuel, CHUV German, French


Datenschutzrichtlinien  |  Nutzungsbedingungen  |  Musterrichtlinie Cookies    Copyright © 2020 Astellas Pharma